A Tale of Two Winters

A year ago
as snow lay on the ground
and bitter winds swirled around my head
winter had not yet led me to your door
so I lay upon the icy floor
and made a solitary angel
with arms that felt like lead.

But now
with my back against the cold
I mould my thoughts to yours
and ponder on the time
that it took for hands to find,
gloved and wrapped in warmth
a heart, a soul, a mind.

As legs and arms tangle
and giggles fill the air, the snowflakes
in your hair glisten and reflect
the stars that melt my sky
and my solitary angel
lifts her snowy lashes
and smiles into your eyes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

