Mrs Reynard

An endless slice of grey

slides underneath me
as I make my way home.
Solid green walls converge
to form a canopy overhead
studded with tiny twinkling night diamonds.
A flash of fur dashes from the hedge
and for a few sweet seconds
we are frozen in perfect stillness;
two strangers marooned,
lunar cocooned,
sharing a moonlit moment on the road.
Oh how I wish it were you,
on this lonely country lane;
mesmerised by my beam of light
instead of sly old mister fox.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

