Salve

We pick the grit from knees life gravel-grazed,
blunt-tweeze with poorly practised pincer grip
and swab the wounds of those that we have raised.
 

As bullies leave our babies dumped and dazed
and scoop cold marrow from the playground skip
we pick the grit from knees life gravel-grazed.
 

Sanguineous crust is used, replaced, erased,
with trembling hands we pull the plaster, rip,
and swab the wounds of those that we have raised.
 

As suitors come and go and hopes are razed
and kisses barb the mouth, fish-hook, cleft lip,
we pick the grit from knees life gravel-grazed.
 

The total sum of care is not appraised,
all debts are crushed as we defer the scrip
and swab the wounds of those that we have raised.
 

When finally our harrowed core has blazed
and youth has sailed on creaking sallow ship
we’ll pick the grit from knees life gravel-grazed
and swab our wounds with those that we have raised.
 
 

4 Comments

Filed under Villanelle

4 responses to “Salve

  1. Okay so this will be the third place I have commented on this one, but it’s worth it. I know there’s been a little bit of debate over those gravel-grazed knees, but I think it works so well for this poem to express the harshness that we encounter at times on our journey. So much I love about this, Julie.

    • Thanks Emma, I really appreciate you stopping by here. I’ve been neglecting this place a little, haven’t even had time to get involved in dVerse links in the last couple of months. Yes, had to keep those gravel-grazed knees, really glad that worked for you.

  2. Wonderful poem. It takes me back to junior school in Milford Haven when two loafing oafs picked me up by my feet and dropped me on my head, resulting in 40 stitches at Withybush.

    • Ouch! I don’t remember that happening Jon. Mind you that’s hardly surprising seeing as I was in protective custody in the girls’ school next door under the ever watchful gaze of Delma Hopkins (I’m assuming you were in North Road at the time).

      I might have to nick ‘loafing oafs’ – great phrase aurally. I shall of course give you full credit and a share of all resulting royalties…my advice though, don’t give up the day job on the strength of that promise – getting published is proving a hell of a lot harder than I imagined.

Leave a Reply

