Shroud

"Moon Water" rehearsel by the Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Tiawan.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Today you wake and find me gone away,
slipped quietly into the morning mist;
just know it was because I could not stay.
 

Don’t send the dogs to find me, restless prey,
your need to apprehend, love please resist;
today you wake and find me gone away.
 

When all around you scattered disarray,
torn remnants of the girl that you once kissed;
just know it was because I could not stay.
 

‘Neath shallow pre-washed dawn in tepid grey,
wet-rinsed and wrung out by life’s cruel wrist;
today you wake and find me gone away.
 

Your soul hung out, pegged hard by hurt’s dismay,
damp cloth exposed for fierce wind to twist:
just know it was because I could not stay.
 

Though loneliness we try to keep at bay,
you cannot hold love’s fabric in your fist.
Today you wake and find me gone away;
just know it was because I could not stay.
 

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Villanelle

4 responses to “Shroud

  1. Brendan

    I’ve never heard you read, but your Welsh ghost voice comes far across the waters with this. Carved like water.

    • Brendan! My lovely poet friend. Where the hell have you been hiding? Having said that I’ve been under the radar a bit, not writing very much at the moment.

      My Welsh ghost voice can be heard here complete with ‘cave’ sound effects courtesy of my eldest iwizard 🙂

      http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vLmfkr93798&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DvLmfkr93798

      Hope you’re well and creatively busy my lovely.

      • Brendan

        Hi Julie — It’s great to have a signature poem, isn’t it, it seems to grow ever more resonant over time.. So many other poems seems to stem from it, revisit the place, like a lover remembering a beach once shared with an other. (Like your “Shroud.”)

        I went off the radar for year, not well, all written out; and took nourishment from the anchorite’s vigil alone by my sea; and took up pen again. Wrote a book of poems about war veterans before coming up for air hear around All-Hallows to return to posting again. You might enjoy the Celtic swash of “St. Columba and The Waves,” posted recently.

        I look forward to reading back through your posts, getting familiarized again with your work. You’re one of the voices I respect so much.

        Best, B

  2. I’m so sorry to hear you haven’t been well my friend. I hope that your strength has fully returned.

    I’m snowed under with work at the moment but have some time off over the holidays so looking forward to catching up with some reading. Your St Columba sounds intriguing.

    Thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

